Literally "the society of creating musicians in Vienna", i.e. composers, was founded in 03-1904 by Alexander von Zemlinsky (1871-1942) and Arnold Schoenberg (1874-1951).

Mahler was offered and accepted the title of honorary president.

The society was dissolved as early as the spring of 1905, for economic reasons. 

Vereinigung schaffender Tonkunstler. Statute.

Share this article with:

Submit to FacebookSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn